Accidental intertextuality

Sometimes it is funny where the course of reading leads you to. Having decided on Kafka on the shore as one of my books for Bellezzas Japanese Literature Challenge 2012, I was tempted to pick up a book at my local library which is about the relationship between Franz Kafka and Dora Diamant. The author Michael Kumpfmüller told a beautiful and captivating story about this late love of Kafka’s. Dora remained by his side until his early death caused by tuberculosis. I was absolutely enthralled by the atmosphere of this book which is in part created by the author’s artful interweaving of Kafka’s own words out of diary entries and other documentary text sources. I nearly read it in one sitting last weekend. After finishing the novel, I didn’t want to leave Kafka’s world in such an abrupt way and therefore picked up a book of mine with two little stories of him hoping to get Kafka’s difficult rhythm of narration better when I was still in the magic of Die Herrlichkeit des Lebens. Today I noticed that I had gone „theme“ apparently.🙂

Ich freue mich sehr über eure Gedanken und euer Feedback! :)

