Japanese Literature Challenge VI

Already for the sixth time this year Dolce Belezza is hosting the beautiful and well beloved Japanese Literature Challenge. This is my first-ever Reading Challenge and I am happy as a lark to be a part of particularly this one this year!

Rules are: Readers should read at least one work of Japanese literature. The Challenge has started on June 1, 2012 and ends on January 30, 2013.

I would like to finish two books at least before the challenge ends, but perhaps it will get one or two books more…

My reading list for the Japanese Literature Challenge 6:

  1. Am Meer ist es wärmer. Eine Liebesgeschichte (orig.: Manazuru, 2006) by Hiromi Kawakami
  2. Kafka on the Shore (orig.: umibe no kafuka, 2002) by Haruki Murakami

As soon as I have finished reading the books, I will link the according reviews with the title names.

6 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge VI

  1. I’m so happy you’re joining in! Kafka on the Shore is probably my favorite from the whole genre although there are so many good Japanese novels to explore. I look forward to your thoughts!

    • Thanks so much, Bellezza! And you’re absolutely right, after I posted my reading list I thought of at least 3 other novels that I could have chosen🙂
      But now I even more look forward to Kafka on the Shore.

  2. I thought I’d left a comment, but apparently it didn’t take…I want to say welcome! I’m so glad that you’re joining us in the Japanese Literature Challenge this year! Your blog is lovely, and I will enjoy reading your thoughts on what you post. Personally, Kafka on the Shore is one of my favorite books in this genre. It was actually the first piece of Japanese literature I read, and it remains my favorite Murakami. I hope you like it as much as I did!

    • You’re very kind, Bellezza! I will enjoy your challenge so much! After I saw your reading list I wished I had included Kazuo Ishiguro’s Nocturnes which waits for me at a friend’s place until the next time we meet. And a further Murakami (The Wind-up Bird Chronicle) sits on my shelf as well. Hopefully, I will read them all🙂. Your comment did come through but sometimes I think WordPress has a personality of its own and likes to play some tricks on its users…

      • Ah, it’s much like Blogger then. I was on WordPress once, but returned to Blogger because all the stats WordPress gave were too annoying to me. Yet neither platform is perfect.

        I’d love to read A Prayer for Owen Meany with you, and whoever else would like to join us. Let’s look for a time perhaps in August/September? I have to get through my busy July first!

        By the way, I once taught in Germany. I taught the American school children in Gelnhausen, which was outside of Hanau. Perhaps you’ve heard of it? I loved taking the train to Frankfort. Such a wonderful city!

      • Bellezza, that’s wonderful! And such a coincidence…up until last autumn I worked in Frankfurt for 2 years and a friend of mine still lives in Hanau!🙂 Teaching is a wonderful experience which I only just get to know. August/September is perfect! I wish you a lot of energy and power for July, hang in there!

Ich freue mich sehr über eure Gedanken und euer Feedback! :)

