Wrap-Up: Japanese Literature Challenge 6

The Japanese Literature Challenge 6 was very special for me because it was the first reading challenge ever, I participated in. It was also the first one I ever finished (which actually wasn’t that  hard because I was supposed to read only one book). Given the long period of the challenge (one entire year) I didn’t manage to read that much books. In the end there were only three novels, but these three have provided me with unforgettable reading hours. Here’s the list of my Japanese Reading Experience:

  1. Am Meer ist es wärmer von Hiromi Kawakami (the third book I read by the author was a bit more bizarre than the ones before, but nevertheless very nice)
  2. Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami (loved it so much)
  3. and Haruki Murakami again with The Wind-up Bird Chronicle (an all-time favorite!)

Thank you, Bellezza, for hosting this inspiring challenge!

2 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: Japanese Literature Challenge 6

  1. I’m quite happy that mine was the first reading challenge you’ve participated in! ;) It’s funny, because my first two Murakami books were also Kafka on the Shore and The Wind-up Bird Chronicle. I love them both, and I know I will reread them often in my life. (I’ve already reread Kafka on the Shore twice.) Perhaps you’ll find time to read a book for our Venice challenge; check out the site for a book suggestion or two here: http://www.veniceinfebruary.blogspot.com. If nothing appeals to you, I thank you for reading Japanese with me! Looking forward to more reading adventures together, and I like the new look of your blog.

    • Thank you, Bellezza! I agree with you, rereading Kafka on the Shore and Wind-up Bird Chronicle is an absolute “must” – there is so much to discover and they’re written so beautifully! Thank you for your invitation to “Venice in February”! I’ll definitely try to read a book for it. Actually you tempted me with your plan to read Thomas Mann’s Tod in Venedig. He is one of my most beloved writers and I always ration his books (same as with John Irving, although I know this might be a bad idea. You never know what’s coming). So “Venice in February” sounds just the right time to tackle one! :)

Ich freue mich sehr über eure Gedanken und euer Feedback! :)

